Contributor Showcase: PHOTOGRAPHER DAVID K SHIELDS

Put simply, he is one of the best fashion photographers to have ever emerged out of the Southern Hemisphere. His extraordinary portraits of both men and women have withstood the test of time. With an endless list of international titles to his resume, we can’t wait to reveal the beautiful pictures he’s graced our pages with for Issue #2 of Stil. Magazine. Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. David K Shields

  • Stil) How did you get into photography?
  • DKS: I ended up being told by my best friend Della, that I had to start taking photos – I think it was the 4th time that week I’d come back to our apartment in Milano, having found another “street casting” that we (had to) take pics of… she thought it was in both of our best interests… my creative needs, and her personal time! Luckily it all fell into place really quickly, and I haven’t looked back…
  • Stil) What magazines have you worked with?
  • DKS: I have been travelling the world for the past 15 years, the last 10 of which have been devoted to the pursuit of the best image. I’ve worked for many of the top magazines worldwide, including Vogue Homme International (fr and jp), French Vogue, Crash, Blast (all France)..Dazed and Confused (UK and Oz), Japanese GQ and Commons & Sense (Jap),German GQ and GQ Style, Italian Marie Claire, Oyster, and many other Boutique mags in Various countries, as well as successfully adapting that freedom to shoot “my images” to the advertising market.
  • Stil) Favourite fashion moment in your career?
  • DKS: There really have been SO many that is impossible to give one alone, but I think it best to say that the friends I’ve found throughout my journey, have been the catalyst to most.
  • Stil) Who or what is inspiring you?
  • DKS: I’m inspired also by many things – People I seeing doing what they do, because they love it for what it is… beauty in spirit, character and life.
  • Stil) Tell us something about yourself that would surprise most people…
  • DKS: I’m really shy, and speak a lot to hide this! ha ha ha… Really, am not sure if that’s totally true, but I am a fairly open book and there’s not many places I can “hide” easily 😉 haha                                                                                                                                                                     Click here to visit the David K Shield website!
About Stil.

Art. Fashion. Whatever. Stil. magazine is an internationally distributed glossy fashion title made in Australia. Our content is provided by our amazing creative team based all around the world! We love you! Our goal is to provide readers with timeless photographic content that continues to be relevant no matter what the trend. It's our intention to develop this blog into an online forum to set up a voice for the Stil. community as well as keeping you up to date with what's rocking our world!
This entry was posted in Contributors, Photography, Stil. Magazine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

